Oregon Football Racking Up Awards


It's awards season in college football. As teams wait to play in their respective bowls, or at least one Oregon team is, conference and national awards are starting to roll out. 

The Pac-12 announced their first and second All-Pac-12 squads earlier this week and a handful of Ducks earned seasonal honors:

First Team: Tyrell Crosby (Offensive Line), Brenden Schooler (Special Teams)

Second Team: Royce Freeman (Running Back), Troy Dye (Linebacker)

Honorable Mention: Ugo Amadi (Defensive Back), Jake Breeland, (Tight End), Jake Hanson (Offensive Line), Arrion Springs (Defensive Back) and Calvin Throckmorton (Offensive Line)

For Crosby, the award season shines a spotlight on the senior as one of the all-time best offensive linemen to pass through Oregon. In addition to his All-Pac-12 honor, Crosby was also awarded the Morris Trophy, presented to the Pac-12's top offensive lineman. 

And of course not to be overlooked, at the Ducks' awards banquet this past Sunday, Freeman was given the overall MVP award, while Justin Herbert and Dye were awarded the offensive MVP and defensive MVP. Rounding out the honors, offensive lineman Shane Lemieux was awarded the most improved award, while defensive lineman Jordan Scott was named freshman of the year.